213 Mt. Horeb Road, Warren, New Jersey 07059

March 31, 2017



You are invited to make nominations for the **Excellence in Education Award Program** (formerly the Governor's Teacher Recognition Award). The program honors outstanding public school teachers, which includes **all certificated staff** (Nurses, Child Study Team Members, etc.) and each award recipient also receives a \$500 educational grant from the Warren Township Board of Education.

A recognition panel consisting of the school principal and five former recipients from each school will select one teacher from their school. Teachers (tenured) selected must have distinguished themselves through exceptional contributions, during the **school year**, in:

- Use of effective instructional techniques and methods
- Establishment of productive classroom climate and rapport with students
- Development of feelings of self-worth and love of learning in students
- Positive interactions with students, staff, and parents while functioning as a frontline advocate for the student between home and school
- Fostering an appropriate environment for learning and exploring creative alternatives to enable all students to achieve to their fullest potential
- Supporting classroom instruction by addressing the educational, social, and emotional needs of all students
- Personal interactions with students that demonstrate professionalism while retaining respect, humor, compassion, and concern for the whole child
- Use of creativity, innovation and efficiency in the classroom
- Ability to contribute to the quality of the professional development in their district
- Ability to utilize educational technology in an effective and efficient manner

A former recipient can be renominated after five years.

Written nominations should be mailed to the Office of the Superintendent, 213 Mt. Horeb Road, Warren, NJ 07059 and received by Tuesday, April 18, 2017. Nomination forms received after April 18, 2017 cannot be accepted. If you wish to fax the nomination to us, our fax number is (732) 560-8801. If you wish to email the nomination to us, please email to sdodd@warrentboe.org. Please note that these form letters will not be distributed to the nominees after the selection process.

Teacher's Name:	School:				
Supporting Statement (may attach additional page):					
<u> </u>					
	Signature				

Recent Recipients

2011-2012	2012-2013	2013-2014	<u>2014-2015</u>	<u>2015-2016</u>
Amy Jensen	Mary Balkonis	Mary Lynch	Nancy Andrews	Cathy Murphy
Margo Haldeman	Jill Zimmer	Laura Lamson	Rebecca Davenport	Jen SanAntonio
Michelle Cebula	Chris Burkhardt	Meredith Fishelman	Stacey Lederman	Cathy Maguire
Brian Kilroy	Lauren Valera	Margee Pfeifer	Dorothy Stolfi	Adam Yenish
Ernie Monaco	Midge Johnson	Michelle Zgombic	Heather Saum	Vivien Plesmid